Permanent Scientific Director

Dr. Karim Gherab

Dr. Karim Gherab Martín
Universidad Rey Juan Carlos (Spain)

Dr. Karim Gherab Martín is a professor at the Faculty of Humanities of the Universidad Rey Juan Carlos. He holds a degree in Theoretical Physics and a PhD in Philosophy of Science and Technology. He has been a visiting professor at prestigious universities such as Harvard University (2008-2009), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2010) and Paris-Diderot University in Paris (2013). He has been an associate professor at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid and at the Universidad del País Vasco, researcher at the CSIC (2011-2013), and has done consultancy work for Indra, Telefonica, Atos-Origin and Accenture. In 2005 he received the Everis Foundation Essay Prize for El templo del saber: Hacia la Biblioteca digital universal (2006, Ed. Deusto).

Scientific Directors of the 2020 Edition

Dr. Karim Gherab

Prof. Yolanda García Vázquez, PhD
Universidade de Santiago de Compostela (Spain)

Social Worker with a Master in Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy, a Master in Information Society and a Doctorate in Economic Integration and Regional Development. She studied at the University of Santiago de Compostela, the Open University of Catalonia, the Camilo José Cela University, the University Institute of Dynamic Psychology, the International School of Management in Dortmund, Germany, and the University of California- Berkeley and is currently a postdoctoral researcher in the Department of Communication Sciences of the University of Santiago de Compostela. She has participated in numerous competitive research projects at national and European, as well as in the transfer of results leading to the creation of technology-based companies. She is currently studying groups of vulnerable women implementing an automatic mobile communication system for the remote application of cognitive-behavioral therapies of social inclusion. She is also part of the Novos Medios Research Group of the University of Santiago de Compostela and has promoted a network of universities and companies interested in the study of mobile phones as instruments for social inclusion.

Dr. Karim Gherab

Prof. Carlos Ferrás Sexto, PhD.
Universidad de Santiago de Compostela (Spain)

European Doctor and Extraordinary Doctoral Award in Geography and History from the University of Santiago de Compostela (1994). He is currently a professor of Human Geography; he is Vice-President of the Iberian Association of Information Systems and Technologies AISTI and was director of the Master in Information and Knowledge Society and coordinator of the Master in Planning and Management of Territorial Development at the University of Santiago de Compostela. He has been a visiting professor at the University of California-Berkeley, Keele University-United Kingdom and the ISM-International School of Management in Dortmund-Germany. His research focuses on the interaction of Spatial Analysis and Psychotherapy and the technology of communication with information systems. Previously, during the academic year 94-95 he was professor of Planning and Regional Development at the University of Guadalajara, Mexico, and between 1991 and 1994 he was a doctoral researcher at the Geography Department of the University College Cork-Ireland. He has been the principal investigator of 5 research projects funded by the Spanish National R + D + i Plan and/or European Union, focused on the analysis of the interaction of ICT with society and territory, within the framework of these projects, it has coordinated the transfer of results from the university to public and private institutions such as the Germán Sánchez Ruipérez Foundation, the University of Guadalajara-Mexico or the CEER Foundation, as well as the creation of spin-off companies .

Scientific Committee

Prof. Javier Echeverría

Javier Echeverría,

Ikerbasque, Spain.

Prof. Javier Echeverría

Mónica Edwards,

CEO of miValu, Spain

Prof. Roberto Feltrero

Roberto Feltrero,

Instituto Superior de Formación Docente Salomé Ureña, Dominican Republic.

Prof. Jesús Miguel Flores Vivar

Jesús Miguel Flores,

Universidad Complutense, Madrid, Spain.

Prof. Jean-Claude Guédon

Jean-Claude Guédon,

University of Montreal, Montreal, Canada.

Prof. Lorenzo Magnani

Lorenzo Magnani,

Universidad de Pavia, Pavia, Italy.

Prof. Silvia Lago Martínez

Silvia Lago,

Universidad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Prof. Alfred Nordmann

Alfred Nordmann,

Technische Universität Darmstadt, Darmstadt, Germany.

Prof. Carmen Salgado Santamaría

Carmen Salgado,

Universidad Complutense, Madrid, Spain.

Prof. Carmen Salgado Santamaría

Mario Toboso,

Spanish National Research Council CSIC, Madrid, Spain.

Prof. Paula Urze

Paula Urze,

Universidade NOVA de Lisboa, Lisbon, Portugal.

Prof. Luisa Veloso

Luisa Veloso,

ISCTE-IUL – Instituto Universitario de Lisboa, Lisbon, Portugal.

Prof. Langdon Winner

Langdon Winner,

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, New York, USA.